Yummy Fluffy Stuff

Despite the fact that today is deemed ‘Bread Day’ in the Swanson kitchen and has been for three years, I made bread yesterday. For the first time.

Well, I actually started it on Wednesday. And the whole first-time thing is kind of a lie, too. I’ve made cinnamon bread a few times and something-that-was-supposed-to-be-french-bread-that-was-all-crust-and-no-yummy-fluffy-stuff many, many times (as well as baking not-exactly-breads like pretzels and cinnamon rolls). This time I made white-bread dough on Wednesday, baked it on Thursday morning and wound up with these beauties on the stovetop.

We didn’t actually get to try it until last night, but – hallelujah! – the crust was where it was supposed to be (as in, only the very edge of the loaf) and there was plenty of yummy fluffy stuff.

So – with bread that I’m not allergic to* – I got to make these this morning.

IMG_0750.JPGIMG_0752.JPG

(Okay, so they’re not gorgeous. But they tasted great. And that’s really all that matters, right?)

Following this recipe from Pinterest – a site that my mom loves, yet she doesn’t have an account, and that my aunt despises, yet she enjoys her account – I made breakfast that wasn’t a bowl of cereal to be eaten dry and without a spoon because I’m too lazy to get an extra eating utensil. Also it was cooked before 10:30. As in I got out of bed before noon. Boom.

I feel accomplished. I can go take a nap now, right?

~Charli Rae |Psalm 62:2|

*I am not allergic to gluten. I’m lactose-intolerant and allergic to soy and shellfish and sometimes tomatoes and corn make me sick and all these healthy people are trying to tell me gluten is bad for me and I’m like “How dare you take away the one thing I can eat?!”

 

Thoughts? Opinions? Lemme know!

